top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Yip

Jeju Island Getaway

Updated: May 18, 2023

During Thanksgiving, my friends and I took a plane down to Jeju Island! Jeju Island, nicknamed the “Hawaii of Korea,” is known for its beauty, food (fresh seafood, black pig pork, hallabong), and warm weather. It was a nice weekend getaway from Seoul in a place that reminded me of home.

Jeju Island is about a one-hour plane ride away from Seoul. The roundtrip plane ticket cost 95,300 KRW (equivalent to $67 USD). We left Seoul on a Thursday afternoon and arrived back the following Monday morning. We stayed at the Ventimo Hotel & Residence Jeju located near the airport which is relatively in the middle of Jeju. Public transportation in Jeju is not as nearly reliable and efficient as public transportation in Seoul. Similar to Hawaii, one needs a car to get around everywhere therefore my friends and I took a taxi everywhere in Jeju. Taxis in Korea are less expensive than taxis/car services in the United States.

Jeongbang Waterfall


Cheonjiyeon Waterfall


Gyulhyanggi Experience Farm

Jeju Island is known for its Hallabongs (한라봉) which is a citrus hybrid that is grown on Jeju that taste similar to a tangerine. In my opinion, hallabongs tasted sweeter and more refreshing compared to tangerines. At this experience farm, it cost 5,000 KRW ($3.74 USD) for unlimited hallabong picking. I went crazy as I was filling up my bucket and eating at the same time. Guilty… I probably had over 30 hallabongs that day🤭


Daepo Jusangjeolli Cliff


Seongsan Ilchulbong

My friends and I were overdressed on this hike thinking it would be easy and the weather would be chilly. But we laughed so much and had so much fun.


Innisfree Jeju House / Ossoluc tea garden


Jeju Black Pig Pork


Hallabong Sushi

I found this sushi restaurant on Instagram and was amazed by the presentation. At Hallabong Sushi, you need to reserve and pre-book on Naver, as well as put a deposit down (20,000 KRW). The presentation and taste was outstanding!

Staircase to Heaven - 95,000 KRW (around $67 USD)



66 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page