top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Yip

Skiing or sliding?

As someone that has lived her entire life on a tropical warm island, anything related to winter feels so foreign to me. Because I was in Korea during the winter season, skiing was top on my bucket list! This was my first time skiing so I am sure you can imagine I was not actually really skiing... more like sliding down the mountain. Luckily I went with friends who were experienced skiers that tried their best to teach me how to ski. Nonetheless, I still really enjoyed it!


Gangwon-do is one of the coldest regions in Korea and is famous for skiing. There are several ski resorts in the Gangwon-do province. My friends and I chose to go to the Elysian Gangchon Ski Resort 엘리시안 강촌 스키장. The Elysian Gangchon Ski Resort can be easily reached via subway and it took about three hours of travel from Seoul (including subway transfer time). Compared to the other ski resorts, you would need to take a car to get there.


My friends and I booked our tickets through Trazy (a travel booking site for foreigners) with a package deal that included a lift pass for 8 hours, ski equipment rentals (ski, ski poles, ski boots), and ski clothes rentals (ski jacket, ski pants, helmet). The ski clothes and equipment rental were really important to me in selecting the ski resort. The total package cost approximately $50 USD!


December 16, 2022





53 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page