top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Yip

Playing Tourist Around Seoul

For the first two weeks before starting school, I tried to explore Seoul as much as I could. I visited most tourist/must-see places during this time.


Namsan Tower

The views at Namsan Tower took my breath away. The line to get to the top was extremely long but definitely well worth it.


Myeongdong

Myeongdong is known as the tourist area in Seoul, equivalent to the Waikiki of Honolulu. There are so many great places to eat and shop within Myeongdong.


Gyeoul's House Cafe (samoyed dog cafe) in Hongdae

One of my highlights for the week! I am a big samoy lover!! This was also my first time at an animal cafe. For an 11,000 won entrance fee, you can stay for as long as you want with the samoyed dogs. I so desperately wanted to take one home with me. If going to visit, I highly recommend going as soon as they open (at 1 PM). I arrived at 1:30 PM and the place was completely filled.


Gwangjang Market (광장시장)

Gwangjang Market is one of the largest and most famous traditional Korean street food market. It was even on Street Food: Asia on Netflix! The majority of the stalls in Gwangjang Market all sold the same types of dishes. We made sure to visit the Kalguksu Stall that was featured in the Netflix series.


Other Places I Visited:

  • Dongdaemun

  • Apgujeong-dong

  • Garosu-gil

  • Bukchon Hanok Village

  • Insa-Dong

  • Ikseon-dong

51 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page