top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Yip

Train to Busan

My trip to Busan was a food tour!


For a short Friday to Sunday weekend trip, my friend and I took a train to Busan! Busan is the second largest city in South Korea known for its beaches, fresh seafood, mountains, and temples. It truly felt like a city by the ocean.


The KTX train we selected took us about 3 hours from Seoul. My roundtrip ticket cost 119,600 won (59,800 won one way), which was equivalent to approx $92 USD. There were several other cheaper options to get to Busan with a long train or bus ride.


The first Korean film I ever watched was called "Train to Busan," so going on a train to Busan felt so surreal (thankfully there were no zombies -haha - a "Train to Busan" movie reference).


We stayed two nights at the Angel Hotel in Seomeyeon which cost 138,600 won (about $50 USD per person). Seomyeon is centrally located in Busan.


Trying new and different foods - especially fresh seafood - was the focus of our itinerary. Coming from Hawaii, I had very high expectations for fresh seafood but on this trip, I tried a variety of new foods which I loved.


Gamcheon Culture Village


Gwangalli Beach


Haeundae Blueline Park - 해운대블루라인파크

For our full day in Busan, we went to Haeundae Blueline Park. We wanted to go on the sky capsule but unfortunately, it was all booked. We ended up walking and taking the train to each destination within the Haeundae Blueline Park. It was a great place to enjoy a walk with a scenic view. The majority of the people there were families and the elderly walking for exercise. I recommend booking at least a few days in advance to secure a spot for the sky capsule. We had also booked our train tickets a day in advance so we could skip the long lines.


호랑이젤라떡- @horang2__gelatteok

The highlight of my Busan trip… freshly wrapped gelato mochi ice cream! This was the best ice cream mochi I have ever had and I would certainly go back to Busan just for it! My friend and I loved it so much that we went twice in one day. 호랑이젤라떡 always has a long line but moves quickly. The staff wrap the fresh mochi around the gelato right in front of you. Can you see the time difference between picture 1 and picture 2? In total, we waited about two hours (including the break time). The wait was worth it and we enjoyed it so much! I highly recommend visiting if going to the Haeundae beach in Busan.



Raw Marinated Crab


Clams and Abalone


October 7-9, 2022

75 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page